top of page
  • Writer's pictureA'fiani Atiqah || @whatafireads

BLOG TOUR || This Is All Your Fault by Aminah Mae Safi


Hello everyone and Happy Thursday! Our post today is quite special as it is another BLOG TOUR of the new released

YA Novel, This Is All Your Fault by Aminah Mae Safi :)


Today, I'll be posting a guest post and I am so excited to share with you guys what had been the author's insight and I sincerely recommend the book to you guys as it is truly amazing ☺️


Also, stay tuned to the end to know how to enter the giveaway to win a physical copy of the book :)

 

Book Title: This Is All Your Fault
Author: Aminah Mae Safi
Publisher: Feiwel and Friend
Release Date: October 13, 2020
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBT
Book Purchase link: https://us.macmillan.com/books/9781250242341
 

SYNOPSIS

Set over the course of one day, Aminah Mae Safi's This Is All Your Fault is a smart and voice-driven YA novel that follows three young women determined to save their indie bookstore.
 
 Rinn Olivera is finally going to tell her longtime crush AJ that she’s in love with him.
 
 Daniella Korres writes poetry for her own account, but nobody knows it’s her.
 
 Imogen Azar is just trying to make it through the day.
 
 When Rinn, Daniella, and Imogen clock into work at Wild Nights Bookstore on the first day of summer, they’re expecting the hours to drift by the way they always do. Instead, they have to deal with the news that the bookstore is closing. Before the day is out, there’ll be shaved heads, a diva author, and a very large shipment of Air Jordans to contend with.
 
 And it will take all three of them working together if they have any chance to save Wild Nights Bookstore.
 
How did you get the idea to write about a bookstore? Is the love that you had for writing and which bookstore was the most meaningful to you?

When I was growing up, my whole family would go to the local independent bookstore once a week. It was a little place in Houston that was called Book Stop. It was a bookstore that had been built into a converted Art Deco theater. The stage was still there— they hadn’t bothered to take it out— and the shelves would go on this incline, because, while they had taken out all the seats, they hadn't re-done the floor. So the Children's books, which was where I lived and which were all the way in the back, were set higher above all of the grown up books.

I loved this for obvious reasons.

This was a place where the rows and rows of books were both always the same and always a little bit different. A place I grew into and around. From the children's book section to the middle grade books, to the smaller YA shelf that had (at this point) yet to explode into the force that it is today.

It was where I found the Wayside School books. It was the place where I found, a little bit later, all the Georgia Nicholson books that were so bananas and were deeply formative to my life, my writing, and my sense of humor.

I moved away to college, came out to Los Angeles at eighteen, and never went back. And my beloved Book Stop was converted into a Trader Joe's. The aisles are full of groceries, the proscenium was taken out, and the floor is decidedly no longer a great, sweeping ramp. The only thing that remains is the neon ALAMABA THEATER sign outside.

This is why I set This Is All Your Fault in a little indie bookstore. I wanted to honor my longstanding love of independent bookstores. I know that, on the outside, a bookstore is brick and mortar. A retail space where seemingly books are traded for money. But they're community centers. Little hubs of stories. Places where so many of us go and find the people we want to become. For me, my local indie was a space I grew into the adult I've become. It was my little hub, my bubble of life that was centered directly in my own sphere but that took me to places so far beyond my childhood world in Texas.

I wanted my book to have this feeling. About three girls who have nothing in common but this space that binds them together. As they try to save their indie, they realize they're saving pieces of themselves. They're saving pieces of their community.

They're part of something bigger— Rinn and Daniella and Imogen— than they ever dared imagine.

I hope you dare imagine you’re part of something bigger. That you can save things people declare to be lost. And that hope is the thing inside yourself and you can find it in the darkest of times.

 

A big thank you to the author for her sharing and I hope that everyone will be interested to snatch this book as it is does not only talk about our favourite place for any book lovers in the world-bookstores, it also talks about friendship and highlights important issues. Thank you everyone and click the link below for tour schedules as well as details of the author and the giveaway!


Big thanks to Turn The Page Tours for hosting this Blog Tour!


See you guys in my next post! of All the Stars and Galaxy,

xoxo, Afi

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Aminah Mae Safi is a Muslim-American writer. Safi was the winner of the We Need Diverse Books short story contest, and that story appeared in the anthology Fresh Ink. She lives in Los Angeles, California, with her partner and cat. This Is All Your Fault is her third novel, following Not the Girls You're Looking For and Tell Me How You Really Feel.


You can find her on the links below:

 

GIVEAWAY CHANCE


Snag a chance to win a physical copy of the book!

Prize: One finished copy of This is All Your Fault by Aminah Mae Safi

US Only

Starts: October 12, 2020

Ends: October 19, 2020 at 12:00 a.m.

 

CHECK OUT THE REST OF THE TOUR STOPS!











54 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page