top of page
  • Writer's pictureA'fiani Atiqah || @whatafireads

Star Ratings: How I Rate My Books


Hello Lovelies!

This post would be brief and short, but I would like to share how I rate the books that I’ve read. In the past, I used to have a point system where I had a few categories that I’ve done which I would put in the marks and get the point average.

The system looks somewhat like this


Storyline: ____/5
Character: ____/5
Surprise Elements: ____/5
Moral values/Sentiments: ____/5
Would likely recommend to others: ____/5
Would likely reread: ____/5

The system was really analytical and I had taken every aspect of the book before really giving ratings to it.

However, as time passes, my rating system somehow had just broken down to just this:


Character: Meh() OK () YESSSS ()
Storyline: Boo () WOW ()
Surprise Elements: Predicted everything () *shocked cat face* ()
Would reread: heck no () YESS ()
Moral values/current issues: so-so () cried ()
 

My system had gone to very complicated and all numbers to just ticking boxes.

Basically, if the book is really good, and I cried and I can’t shut up about it, it’ll be over 3.5 stars. If I had tried MULTIPLE times to give up on the book, it’ll just be a 3-3.5 for me.Under 3 just means that the book is just unreadable and bad, which I don’t have the heart to do it as authors do take their time and energy to write the book.

If you’d like to know what my Rating means now, this is basically how it looks like


1-2 Stars
I’m so sorry but I can’t finish this book. It bored me to death.
3 Stars
It was not bad, but it was not good either. I may almost given up multiple times
3.5 Stars
It’s good but didn’t move me (and/or) I WAS SO FRUSTRATED WITH THE AUTHOR WHY DID YOU DO THIS TO ME
4 Stars 
I enjoyed it but it was just that. 
4.5 Stars
Almost perfect, but there are certain aspects that irked me but I loved the book still.
5 Stars
Either CRIED SUPER BAD or LAUGHED TOO HARD or ENJOYED THE BOOK TOO MUCH or ALL OF THE ABOVE and I WON’T SHUT UP ABOUT IT 
 
Unratable
Usually the book is just too good, you can’t rate it. Its basically God-Tier. 


However, despite all this, here’s a reminder for everyone. We humans are not made from the same brains, which means our thought process differs from everyone else. While some can give a whopping 5 stars on a book, others can give just a 3 star. Remember that, some genres and characters relate and connects to different people, which shows the variety of human nature. Don’t be mad that the book that you loved, may be a bad experience for someone else. Different stories touch us in different ways, hence, it’s good that we remind ourselves to always be kind and respect different opinions and preferences. Ratings do give exposure to the book and make it more known, but the adventures written within the pages, are solely based on the reader’s experience.



Remember to always be kind and be respectful to each other’s journey. A book that you hate may impact someone else’s lives. It’s not best to impose your thoughts on others, rather, have a civil debate about it. I love to talk to anyone who can be open to accepting that the book you like may not be for another person. Books after all have a soul on its own, and it connects to readers who can connect with what they have to offer as well.



Have a nice day everyone and I’ll see you in my next post!

from all the stars and galaxies,

xoxo,

Afi

38 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page