top of page
  • Writer's pictureA'fiani Atiqah || @whatafireads

BOOK REVIEW || The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams



Title: The Bromance Book Club
Author: Lyssa Kay Adams
Personal Ratings : 4.75/5 🌟
Format : E-Book
Pages: 386
Publications: Berkley
Source: Google Playstore (Books)

Synopsis

(Taken from Google)



The first rule of book club: You don't talk about book club.

Nashville Legends second baseman Gavin Scott's marriage is in major league trouble. He’s recently discovered a humiliating secret: his wife Thea has always faked the Big O. When he loses his cool at the revelation, it’s the final straw on their already strained relationship. Thea asks for a divorce, and Gavin realizes he’s let his pride and fear get the better of him.

Welcome to the Bromance Book Club.

Distraught and desperate, Gavin finds help from an unlikely source: a secret romance book club made up of Nashville's top alpha men. With the help of their current read, a steamy Regency titled Courting the Countess, the guys coach Gavin on saving his marriage. But it'll take a lot more than flowery words and grand gestures for this hapless Romeo to find his inner hero and win back the trust of his wife.
 

My thoughts on the Book

Disclaimers: Not for those under 18!

“First Rule of Bookclub? You DON’T TALK ABOUT BOOK CLUB.”

And that’s on PERIODT!


The Bromance Bookclub is something that is not only witty and funny, its packed with such raw emotions, I laughed out loud at some parts, and I had teared up so badly at certain parts as well.


The story starts on Gavin Scott, a major league baseball player who is having problems with his marriage with his wife Thea. Taking pity on him, his teammate and best friend, Del, had invited him to a world of a secret Book Club, filled with only men with professional careers, meeting up to talk about their problems and, the best part, LEARN FROM THE PROS-

The Characters from Romance Novels; and in the case of Gavin, they’re reading up on a Regency Romance Novel.


Hilarious would be a HUGE UNDERSTATEMENT for the book. The story is unapologetically funny, witty and it had captured me from the start. The idea of a book club filled with men talking about their feelings shows how the author is exhibiting non-toxic-masculinity energy. We definitely love and stan!


Firstly, let’s talk about the Book club itself. I love how the members of the book club gather around and talk about the characters in the book whilst relating it to the real problems they have at hand. It's often seen as weird for men to read romance novels, especially ones targeted to the female audience, but it's refreshing to see how these men who barely knew each other can come together and talk about the characters emotions and actions and also help them with the problems of their friends. Its both fascinating and also touching as men are often told to not show feelings and I love how straightforward they are with each other. I love that they have a MANUAL AND A FREAKING SYSTEM which I applaud and they’re reading romance novels in order to learn more about the “language” of their partners which tells how serious they are to salvage their relationship with their respective partners.


What has also touched me is how they don’t belittle each other’s problems. Gavin had a problem since he was small and I loved that none of his friends had laughed and teased him about it. The friendship is as pure and hilarious as it can get and I absolutely love their book club and their friendship. They’re such a supportive bunch! They scrutinize when needed but they never failed to provide support for their friend which I had loved about their comradeship so much.


Let’s talk about the plot of the book.


I love a good cheesy romance novel, but honestly, some realistic romance is what I prefer nowadays, and this book gave me just that.

Gavin and Thea face problems with what I can say are some common problems that married couples face. I love that the author had shown how hard Gavin had worked to salvage their marriage and I love how both of them had opened up to each other and talked about their insecurities and problems.


The author had shown that in relationships, “Love is enough, but you’ll have to work for it as well”. We can make love to be enough when both you and your partner are willing to trust each other and open up to each other. Now, I may not be the best person to write about this, but I love how they each both try to make the marriage work again. It's so realistic that I feel touched at certain parts of the book.


And Gavin Scott has made into my “men with big uWu energy” list. He is such a sweetheart and both him and Thea definitely deserve each other. I love how protective Thea is of Gavin and I love how Gavin works really hard to make Thea happy again. Gavin had me cry and gosh he definitely deserves the world.


Overall, this book had given me a lot of laughter but also the portrayal of real problems in relationships. It’s definitely a refreshing read and I love the idea of a book club to not only discuss the books but also to discuss your feelings towards the book. It's a tad steamy, sassy and witty but it’s also very heartwarming. I would recommend to those who seek second chance in relationships and also to anyone who needs a good laugh. It’s a super fast read, you’ll def enjoy it, as much as I did.


Remember, Love takes work, you have to be happy yourself. Trust is important in relationships and

Love can actually conquer all.


Till next time lovelies <3

from all the stars and galaxies,

Xoxo, Afi



41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page