top of page
  • Writer's pictureA'fiani Atiqah || @whatafireads

BOOK REVIEW || The Way Back by Gavriel Savit



Tittle: The Way Back
Author: Gavriel Savit
Personal Ratings : 3.5/5 🌟
Format : Paperback
Pages: 360
Publications: Knopf
Source: Times Reads
https://www.timesreads.com

Synopsis

(Taken from Google)



Perfect for readers of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman, a sweeping historical fantasy that follows two teens on a journey through the Far Country, a Jewish land of spirits and demons.

For the Jews of Eastern Europe, demons are everywhere: dancing on the rooftops in the darkness of midnight, congregating in the trees, harrowing the dead, even reaching out to try and steal away the living.

But the demons have a land of their own: a Far Country peopled with the souls of the transient dead, governed by demonic dukes, barons, and earls. When the Angel of Death comes strolling through the little shtetl of Tupik one night, two young people will be sent spinning off on a journey through the Far Country. There they will make pacts with ancient demons, declare war on Death himself, and maybe-- just maybe--find a way to make it back alive.

Drawing inspiration from the Jewish folk tradition, The Way Back is a dark adventure sure to captivate readers of Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book and Philip Pullman's The Book of Dust.
 

My thoughts on the book


The Way Back tells a story of two children, Yehuda Leib and Bluma and how their different encounters with Death had made them off on a journey to Far Country, the land of the non livings and demons and how they find their way back home.


The story sets off in a slow but intriguing pace. Since it's my first time reading a story which is set in a Jewish folklore telling, it's interesting how the cultures were explained in the book. The elements of Eastern Europe as well as the cultural values of the Jewish folk had been explained greatly in the first part of the book. The author had done a wonderful job of making it an atmospheric book, set in a place called Tupik of freezing cold winter. Reading the book had made me feel like I had stepped into Narnia and off to venture into something unknown.


For me, the first part of the book is a bit slow-paced, but it is crucial to the world-building and the setting of the book. Whilst it also took me a while to adjust to the writing style, I find that towards the end of the book, I find myself liking it. I love both Bluma and Yehuda Leib’s resistance and strength to survive in a place of the unknown. Their moments with Death was my favourite as it shows their willingness to do anything to survive. Surprisingly, the book had a bit of a dark turn out but I had enjoyed the part of the book as well.


All in all, the book had been quite a reading experience for me. I love how it had brought me to venture out with Bluma and Yehuda Leib and explore a whole different culture I was not familiar with. It is both a learning and fun experience.


I personally recommend this book to fans of Neil Gaiman and dark folklore settings, or anyone who wants to be brought back to the lands of Narnia and Alice in Wonderland, with a twist of befriending Demons, making deals with Death as well as going on an adventure in the snow. I assure you it’ll be an exhilarating experience hehe.


Thank you so much to Times and Putri Fariza for providing me a copy of this book! I had absolutely love the unique experience while reading it hehe.

This book will be out soon at all good bookstores!


Spread love and take care everyone and Head on to your adventures!


from all the Stars and Galaxies,

xoxo, Afi



40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page