top of page
  • Writer's pictureA'fiani Atiqah || @whatafireads

BOOK REVIEW || The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa



Tittle: The Worst Best Man
Author: Mia Sosa
Personal Ratings : 4.25/5 🌟
Format : E-Book
Pages: 368
Publications: Avon
Source: Google Books

Synopsis

(Taken from Google)



A wedding planner left at the altar. Yeah, the irony isn’t lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina’s managed to make other people’s dreams come true as a top-tier wedding coordinator in DC. After impressing an influential guest, she’s offered an opportunity that could change her life. There’s just one hitch… she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.

Tired of living in his older brother’s shadow, marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he’ll be working with his brother’s whip-smart, stunning—absolutely off-limits—ex-fiancée. And she loathes him.

If they can survive the next few weeks and nail their presentation without killing each other, they’ll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina’s ready to dish out a little payback of her own.

But even the best laid plans can go awry, and soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn’t interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again...

 

My Thoughts on The Book


Sassy and sexy, with a hint of fluffiness and sprinkled with some wedding cake on top.


Disclaimers: Not for those under 18!


This book was not what I has expected going into it. With such mixed reviews on Goodreads, I was pretty reluctant on whether I should give this book a try, but as always, my compulsiveness won over me, and I can safely say, I did not regret indulging in this book. I’m siding with the team who actually finds this book good, hence the 4🌟 review.


Now, I love a good enemies-lovers trope and this book can definitely be one of the good ones, albeit I admit, the source of them being enemies is a bit off, but the characters totally made up for this.


The book tells the story of Lina, who is a wedding planner, coincidentally has to work with none other than her ex-fiance's brother, Max, who apparently was the reason she was left at the altar, ON HER WEDDING DAY.


Okay here’s the thing. At first, I was super irked with the reason Lina hated Max. I get how Max was the reason his brother left her, but he did nothing but just had a one-on-one talk with him, and Andrew (i swear i hate this man) was the one who LEFT her at the altar. But, when I dived in her character, I guess I can relate to her emotions. Being the self-sufficient woman that she is, she has to hide all sorts of emotions, hence, Andrew being the ass he is, even broke up the engagement by asking Max to say it and not himself. Coward move and the fact that Lina has just to suck it all in makes it easier to channel the anger to Max? A bit off I might say, but again, I like that it didn't become the worst problem they had, so I felt it was okay to continue this book.


What made me actually loved this book was the style of writing and the characters. Lina and Max’s chemistry is off the charts and I’m absolutely living for it 🤣 Their banters are SO PETTY and I like how straightforward their relationship is. Working women can relate to Lina’s character so much. The fact that she really closes herself to not show weakness and she’s super vulnerable yet looks so strong was something that I relate closely too. I love that Lina, whilst being all that, she’s not snarky or mean, in fact, she’s super sweet and I love her chemistry with Max.


Ooof. Yes. Max Hartly, aka, Hartly-the-Hottie! This man would be in my list of uwu characters that I will cherish for life. He’s such a sweetheart and the fact that he loves cake? ADDS THE ICING TO AN ALREADY NON-EXISTENT PERFECT CHARACTER :’) I love that he is very straightforward about his feelings and he’s not afraid to show that he wanted Lina even after their petty banters. I love how supportive he is with Lina and how he encourages her to be the best version of her.


Both of them exudes such positive, non-toxic energy! We love a supportive couple! Even with a slight minor hiccup (which is still a bit weird for me, but i’m okay with it nonetheless), i loved how they’ve handled their feelings like adults. Safe to say, I had enjoyed this book immensely.


One thing i’ve learnt about the book is that, with the right person, how many times you’ve got hurt and scared to love and open up to someone, the right one will always be with you. At all times and won’t judge your vulnerabilities.


Taking a quote from this book

“Love doesn’t operate in abstract, whether it’s romantic or not. It’s between people. So, trying to avoid it in the abstract makes no sense.”
“You’re neither my first choice nor my second choice. You’re my only choice.”

Yeessh. I look forward to more of the author’s future books! Her writing is witty and relatable :)


Spread love and I hope you also find the love you need.


from all the stars and galaxies,

Xoxo, Afi

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page