top of page
  • Writer's pictureA'fiani Atiqah || @whatafireads

BOOK REVIEW || 10 Blind Dates by Ashley Elston



Tittle: 10 Blind Dates
Author: Ashley Elston
Personal Ratings: 4.5/5🌟
 
Format : E-Book
Pages: 486
Publications: Hyperion Teens

Synopsis

(Taken From Google)

Sophie wants one thing for Christmas-a little freedom from her overprotective parents. So when they decide to spend Christmas in South Louisiana with her very pregnant older sister, Sophie is looking forward to some much needed private (read: make-out) time with her long-term boyfriend, Griffin. Except it turns out that Griffin wants a little freedom from their relationship. Cue devastation.

Heartbroken, Sophie flees to her grandparents' house, where the rest of her boisterous extended family is gathered for the holiday. That's when her nonna devises a (not so) brilliant plan: Over the next ten days, Sophie will be set up on ten different blind dates by different family members. Like her sweet cousin Sara, who sets her up with a hot guy at an exclusive underground party. Or her crazy aunt Patrice, who signs Sophie up for a lead role in a living nativity. With a boy who barely reaches her shoulder. And a screaming baby.

When Griffin turns up unexpectedly and begs for a second chance, Sophie feels more confused than ever. Because maybe, just maybe, she's started to have feelings for someone else . . . Someone who is definitely not available.

This is going to be the worst Christmas break ever... or is it?

 

My Thoughts on the book

When I first read the synopsis of the book, I didn’t imagine that I would love this book as much as I did, but I am ABSOLUTELY IN LOVE!


The story line is a very slow burn and its also a bit predictable, but I didn’t hate it nonetheless.


I loved Sophie’s family! Her Nonna (grandmother), her Papa (grandfather) and all her extended uncles and cousins and even the Evil Joe’s. The author had wrote it in such a way that the book is very easy to read and it focuses more on the family values rather than the romance part, which I find really heartwarming.


The idea that her Nonna had for her to cheer her up so that she won’t wallow in self-pity over Christmas week can be overwhelming for some people, but I find it very endearing as my family is almost as similar as hers. I love that they made it into a family affair and that her closest cousins and best friends, Olivia, Charlie and Wes had always to her beck and call when she needed help bailing out from the dates. It was fun reading the dating system and how everyone in the family had gotten to choose who and where her dates will be held.

To some, it can be a very slow-burn story line, but for me, I absolutely loved it. I loved how nosy her family is, but all the antiques had reminded me of my big family as well; on how we gather and sleep practically everywhere in the same house and how your business is everyone’s business in the family. Some might find these overbearing and annoying, but that’s the joy of having a big family. When you need them, they’ll always be around and you’ll always be thankful for the support.

That was what the author had tried to portray in this book, that at the end of the day, your family will always be with you. Yes, they can be loud and quirky and super nosy, but, these are the same people who would do anything to make you happy. I loved how the story ended for Sophie at the end and she ended up with the person that I had been expecting her to; and THEY’RE SO FREAKING CUTE!


This story made me feel good on the inside, and it also shows that, good things comes at the right time, and the right person may be the closest one to you without you knowing. One more thing that I’ve learnt from this story is that, you may confuse your feelings for affection and love for your ex, but remember that in a relationship, it takes two to tango and don’t waste time on someone that is pinging over you just because you’re not wallowing in self pity but actually having good fun after the break up 😊

If you want to find story that makes your heart warm and also made you laugh a whole lot, try this book and I assure that you definitely won’t regret it 😊


Till the next one lovelies.


from all the Stars and Galaxies,

xoxo, Afi

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page